Opera – part 3

After drawing while listening to opera I wanted to explore what the designs would look like on fabric. I experimented with calico, plain cotton, polyester, synthetic velvet and satin acetate. The calico took the colour really well, cotton ran more but has better movement once dyed. The polyester, velvet and satin acetate did not hold the colour very well, the polyester ran, but I actually really like the result.

These are fashion drawings of bandanas and face masks made using my designs. I wanted to make accessories that I can wear while I work backstage at Garsington Opera this season, and the face mask is something that is so particular to this point in time.

I used calico to make the face masks and cotton to make the bandanas. I am really pleased with how they came out, because they are so much bigger than the samples I could really play with the detail.

I plan to stitch into them with phrases an patterns as I work behind the scenes, letting my experience as a runner influence the outcome of the project.

Published by ellensmacraetions

Student on Oxford Brookes FAD

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started